BASEBALL FOR NERDS: WHEN I WENT TO LHV BUT DIDN’T SEE ANY BASEBALL AND BOLARIS TOLD ME TO RUN FOR COVER

I’ve been to many baseball games in my life, but until last Thursday night, I had never been to a game that was rained out. Things changed in a big way in Allentown as the IronPigs prepared to take on the Norfolk Tides (and I won’t comment on how fitting it was that the ‘Pigs game was dumped on this much when the Tides were in town).

As I drove up to the Lehigh Valley, KYW warned about storms that were rolling down through the Poconos, but I had assumed that like most summer t-storms, the rain would roll through and delay things things for 45 minutes or so. But that wasn’t the case. Around 6:15pm or so, the sky started to look real ominous, the wind started to pick up, and then as the rain started to come down, the loudspeaker at the stadium urged everyone to take cover. Of course this was when I was out in the open, taking photos of the lineups.

Then things really got crazy. I almost lost my hat due to high winds. The rain came down harder and harder, leading John Bolaris (via Twitter) to urge everyone run for cover. And there were enough characters left at the end of the tweet for him to ask everyone to “follow @johnbolaris.”

So in the end there was no baseball for me. No Domonic Brown dingers. No seeing another Orioles draft pick bust on the mound. And hanging with Twitter buddy Mark.

It still was a fun experience. I recommend everyone attend a rainout sometime. You may even want to bring a raincoat and not leave it in your car.

Chili dog eating contest.

Water baseball

Mascot fight!

Leave a Reply

