SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK

I never thought I’d be excited to a romantic comedy, but alas, here I am.

I’m not really a movie guy. I like movies, but I don’t seek out films like I do with music. Hell, I didn’t even know who Jennifer Lawrence was until about a week ago. I’m not out of touch, it’s basically that I don’t care.

Now I do care. Delco native Bradley Cooper, who went to Germantown Academy* and has been in a bunch of movies (most of which I haven’t seen), stars alongside Lawrence and Robert DeNiro (a guy I know and respect) in Silver Linings Playbook, which is sort of about the Eagles, but also about some other stuff, including the budding romance of Cooper’s and Lawrence’s characters.

But it’s not your typical rom-com! And there’s Oscar buzz! And (most importantly) it was filmed in and around Philly. Look, there’s the “white trash” of Upper Darby! And the Llanerch Diner, where I almost plowed into a car driving sans headlights around 11pm years ago.

The previews look good, the reviews have been solid, and I’ve even heard that there’s some semblance of a real Philly accent used by the actors. We’ll see about that last one.

* – my wife, who also went there, likes to bring this up

Leave a Reply

