LOOKING AHEAD: RUNAROUND KIDS

4
(Photo by the genius Sean Conroy)

Before we look back at the music of 2012, I’m going to drop a few of these jawns to look ahead at some of the music I’m anticipating in the year ahead. This may not be the best way to prioritize, but fuck it, it’s my blog.

The year is 2012, it’s now.

I do a lot of driving each week. It’s roughly 45 miles between my apartment and school. It’s about half that to work. On the high end, I probably do about 400 miles of driving per week.

A positive byproduct of these hours behind the wheel is that I have a lot of time with my iPod and its 100+ mixes. While on my 2012 mix last week, a few Runaround Kids tracks popped up, so I switched over and listened to a few tracks on shuffle before playing Linked Arms from start to finish.

When that record came out late last year I missed the boat on it, deciding to give it a pass because of my lukewarm response to the band’s first two EPs. While they had their moments, the songs never struck a nerve with me, and furthermore, both releases sounded like they were recorded in a tin can.

It was until after I heard “Can’t Lose Lover” on an Audio Antihero compilation that I decided to give Linked Arms a try. And I was blown the fuck away. It seems that the band now had a proper recording budget, but importantly, their songwriting had taken a massive step forward. I may skip a track here and there at times, but this is an amazing album from top to bottom.

Bands like Johnny Foreigner and Superchunk, those who could be considered sonic contemporaries, may be able cobble together as many stellar moments as the Runaround Kids did on this album. And both bands have much longer careers.

I may be going a little overboard here, but my heaps of praise have been further justified by the band’s show of consistency throughout 2012, whether it was with their appearances on a split cassette with fellow Wakey band The Spills and The City Consumes Us compilations, the split EP with We Are Losers. or their soon to be released singles EP, Teeth Blue, Lips Red on the excellent label Philophobia Music.

It’s been a hell of a year for this trio, as they now have a consistent record of quality. And whether or not they do anything in 2013 is anyone’s guess (I have no idea), it’s a good bet that they’re working on some new tunes and we could see an album by late summer or early autumn.

I don’t know about you, but I’m fucking excited.

P.S. – Guys, if you can send me one of your shirts and a Brude shirt (size medium), I’ll love you forever.

Leave a Reply

